Stanley Steemer Reviews

Show reviews that mention
carpet service job cleaning carpets house room stanley steamer customer home
Filter review
Most helpful review
I saw the ad for the $99 special and went on-line to order it, also I told them I needed the stairway cleaned also, they told me the price would be $173, so I emailed back and said what happened to the $99 special and they said it would be applied at time of service....
View full review
View full review
91 comments
#1914146

Don't bother With the "deodorizer" treatment. The guy has a spray bottle with something like febreeze in it and he walks around the room and spritzes a few times.

Buy a bottle of febreeze and do it yourself in less than a minute. It only lasts a day anyway and the odor just comes back, then you have to do it again.

View more comments
ID
#538890 Review #538890 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Terryville, Connecticut
Service
Stanley Steemer Cleaning Service

Revision of last email

This is Mrs. Littlejohn, From my last email, Ive just been told that it was not from last year. For some reason I thought it was because I blocked out what happened but it happened April 2021.
View full review
ID
#2711818 Review #2711818 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Not satisfied with co.

This is a follow up since getting my carpets cleaned--Stanley Steemer has offered to redo areas not cleaned well. This was no fault of the worker either as he worked hard, did a great job on staircase. I was upset that it used to be a 2 person team and he did it by himself. Not enough employees so we all suffer...

User's recommendation: Check how many workers are doing your job.

View full review
ID
#2652001 Review #2652001 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Santee, California
New Reviewer

Not received my check

My car got towed which was a result of my shirt was inside the car so I cant fully return uniform which the hr saying I cannot receive my check in to get my car out the pound
View full review
ID
#2618528 Review #2618528 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Loss
$290
Preferred solution
Money

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Unhappy with results

In early January 2021 I had Stanley Steemer clean my ducts because my very powerful furnace blower was putting dirt/dust all over my curtains, blinds and window sills as well as affecting my breathing. Their service was very expensive, they left my apartment filthy, did not take care not to and I have seen no results that it has accomplished anything. I spent $450 for this service which has accomplished nothing and I could have got the same results with $30 worth difusers which I have had to purchase anyway. I can't help but wonder what they were doing the for 3 hours they spent in my apartment.

User's recommendation: Call someone else.

View full review
ID
#2432983 Review #2432983 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Wickliffe, Ohio
Pros
  • Came on day promised
Cons
  • Job they did
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer
Update by user Jan 12, 2021

just letting it go, costly lesson learned.

Original review posted by user Jan 12, 2021
We hired stanley steemer to clean our carpet, the job is absolutely terrible, they did more like a glorified vacuuming, They were supposed to do two bedrooms a hall and the stairs to the second floor. The carpet on the front of the steps had some scuff marks and...
View full review
View full review
Resolved
ID
#2376856 Review #2376856 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Just a glorified vacuum job
Preferred solution
We feel it is a waste of time to negotiate any resolution. The tech stated that he did everything per company policy so this is obviously their standard.

Terrible outcome

Carpet was left very wet and not very clean. Was very soiled three weeks later with no one in the house.
View full review
ID
#2362102 Review #2362102 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Stanley Steemer Floor Cleaning Service
Pros
  • Came on day promised
Cons
  • Tried to change price from what was quoted
  • Quality of work
  • Poor quality cleaning

Disappointed

I am a third-generation Stanley Steemer customer. I was always very pleased with your service for the many years I lived in Florida. However since moving to Louisiana I have been very unhappy with Stanley Steemer. In August I made an online appointment. When the cleaning team arrived, they would not honor the price I was given online and said that their New Orleans franchise did not honor sale prices. So I had to pay more money to get the job done. Even more disappointing was how unusually quick they performed the work with no special care or attention to any of my carpet or pre-treatment of spots. When they left the carpet was very wet and it took many hours to dry. Worst of all was that in about three weeks the carpet looked worse than ever. I live Alone and I am a neat person So is there there is no way this should have occurred. This week I turned to Oxyfresh carpet cleaning and they did a beautiful job, leaving my carpet clean and it was almost dry when I left. They were very professional and took extra care to treat soiled areas. I will never again chose Stanley Steemer as my carpet cleaner. I have advised many of my friends of this situation and do intend to spread the word about how Stanley steamer is not the professional company they once were. I do plan to spread the word about Oxyfresh. I sincerely hope that there is a chance your company might turn things around in this area. Best of luck.

User's recommendation: Check with your local area to see if people recommend Stanley Steemer. They were good in Florida but they are terrible here.

View full review
ID
#2362095 Review #2362095 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Stanley Steemer Floor Cleaning Service
Cons
  • Lies about price for 3 rooms
  • Poor quality
Loss
$75
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

Watch for bait and switch tactics

I received an offer to clean 2 rooms of carpets for about $124..When the tech arrived he looked at my rooms and said my rec room was actually 2 rooms which it is not, so he said I had 3 rooms and wanted to charge an extra $100 more.DoW I said no thanks and showed him the door. I called the company to complain>;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; They said they would talk to the manager and call me back but they never did...Ron P ...Henderson v.
View full review
ID
#2344214 Review #2344214 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Henderson, Nevada
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer
I hired Stanley Steamer Rocky Mount, NC branch to clean my carpet in my town house for the holidays. They came out and performed the quickest job I have seen in my life. A day after the carpet dried it was spotted, and it did not look or smell clean. I reached back out...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2337316 Review #2337316 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Saint Marys, North Carolina
Cons
  • Cleaning of carpets
  • Quality of work
  • Attitudes of management
Loss
$357
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Overcharging for service rendered and very high pressure "Up-selling"

Original review updated by user Dec 14, 2020
They were not even in my front door before they launched into the "up-selling". I thought the disinfectant (so-called) process and the Scotch Guard would be more intensive. These two processes took them about 5 minutes maximum total for both and cost me $286.00 for 60 square yards for virtually no product applied---literally only "spritzed on". What a joke. If anybody is reading this I am located in the S.W. part of Chicago (Beverly neighborhood)----don't use unless you are willing to say a loud "NO" to the extras. And they charged me for an area rug they did not clean. I would not let them clean it because I had a lot of stuff on it that I had cleared out from the room being cleaned.

User's recommendation: Do not use unless you completely resist the addition of disinfectant and Scotch-Guard. The actual cleaning (removal of dirt) was about a 7.5 out of 10.

View full review
ID
#2336274 Review #2336274 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Stanley Steemer Cleaning Service
Cons
  • Disreputable and unethical business practice
  • Actual cost was 3 times higher the the quote
Preferred solution
Price reduction
On December 14, 2020 my wife and I hired Stanley Steemer to clean all the carpets in our home. Two employees showed up, at which time they informed us that they do not move furniture to clean underneath. We were told before we hired Stanley Steemer that they do move...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2336005 Review #2336005 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Bad service the 1st time

Original review updated by user Dec 06, 2020
Tony and Willie came out Friday 12/04 and REDID our carpet at NO charge. They did an amazing job. And we praised them for making our carpets look fantastic,,,,A++.They should get a star on there work record. The lady that I spoke within getting this done. Is A++ in customer service! and should receive a star also !!!!!! Because of the terrible work that was done the 1st time on 09/20. Invoice #331389 charging us $272.00. They stated my house smelled and I should have deodorizer put on.

User's recommendation: Request Willie and Tony.

View full review
ID
#2323426 Review #2323426 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Harlem, Illinois

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Disappointed terribly

I wanted my duct work cleaned out and I'm mad about the service I received. I was quoted $350 and that included 10 ducts. I have 15 so I knew that would be $50 more. They knocked my shower curtain down and just left it in the tub. The didnt push my couch back and left me a mess. I'm my laundry room I had all of my shirts hung up...they were COVERED in dust dirt and crap. I had to wash everything. And they charged me $488!!! I'm very upset about their work.

User's recommendation: NO WAY.

View full review
ID
#2302423 Review #2302423 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Russellville, Ohio
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I was contacted by a customer representative

Stanley Steemer - I was contacted by a customer representative
I wrote a review about a week ago, and today about an hour ago I was called by a customer services representative (Mary), who did not resolve the issue at all. She told me that it wasnt my fault nor their employees (who gave me the estimate) Fault. I am wondering, whos fault is it. I am still wondering why did she call me? To be honest, I am more disappointed now more than before. She did not even discuss the poor job that was done on the tiles. No integrity, no ethics, no customer service at all. SAD, SAD and SAD ...

User's recommendation: Do not believe the quote that will be given to you by the phone.

View full review
ID
#2287171 Review #2287171 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I wrote a review then was contacted by a customer representative

I was contacted today about 45 minutes ago by Mary (a customer services representative) about a review I wrote about a week ago. It is so sad that Mary did not do a thing, her answer was: it is not your (my) fault nor the gentleman who gave you (me) the quote. I have no idea why did she call me. Just to tell me it isnt my fault nor their employee fault. Whos fault is it? Really I am disappointed more than before. No integrity, no ethics, no real customer service at all. My advice, is not to believe the quote by phone. She did not even discuss my dissatisfaction with the job on the tiles. Sad
View full review
ID
#2287146 Review #2287146 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois
Pros
  • Prompt
  • Hardwood floor cleaning
Cons
  • Actual cost was 3 times higher the the quote
  • Tiles cleaning
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Price reduction

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article